RSS Feed

Friday Favorites – New Authors

Still traveling, with limited access to the Internet. Instead of a mash-up of awesome links this week, I’m going to talk about a new favorite author: Inez Kelley.

(standard disclaimer: No one gave me any books or asked me to write about these. The books were purchased with my own money.)

To be honest, I’d never heard of Ms. Kelley before Carina Press opened its doors. I saw her name on one of their erotica books, but didn’t think much of it. At the time, I didn’t own an e-reader, and I don’t like to read on my computer. In addition, I don’t generally read erotica (although that might be because I haven’t found a good one yet).

Fast forward to last June. I finally bought myself a Kindle. I immediately went to Amazon to get some books. I searched by publisher because I knew Carina would have some good books at reasonable prices. I found Sweet as Sin by Inez Kelley. It was released back in January 2011, so it wasn’t a new release, but I liked the blurb:

John Murphy is tormented by nightmares. A bestselling young-adult author, he writes the ultimate fantasy: stories where good always triumphs. He knows better. His past has shown him the worst in people—and in himself. When he moves next door to the sexy, vibrant Livvy—a woman completely unlike his usual one-night stands—he’s driven to explore every curve of her delicious body.

Pastry chef Livvy knows that giving in to the temptation that is John Murphy won’t lead to anything permanent, but she deserves a passionate summer fling. John discovers she’s as sweet as the confections she bakes while Livvy slowly unravels his secrets. But what will happen when she uncovers them all? (taken from the Carina Press web site)

I’m not sure what I expected. I mean the blurb tells you the book has a tormented hero. I guess I thought it would be a fluffier read than it was. It wasn’t dark and depressing, but man, it grabbed me so hard I couldn’t stop reading. John is one of those heroes that stayed with me for months. Months after I finished that book, I wanted more of John.

Last week, I read Turn It Up. This book by Ms. Kelley is a lighter read. It’s a friends-turned-lovers book. What amazed me about this book is that the author manages to create sexual tension and keep it intense throughout the book. Because of a bet, the hero and heroine don’t actually have sex. Few authors can sustain such a high level of sexual tension without boring the reader.

After reading these two books, I know I’ll definitely keep my eye out for other books by Inez Kelley.

How about you? Who was the last new-to-you author that you picked up? What did you like best about the book?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

6 responses »

  1. I LOVE finding new authors! Recently I’ve ‘found’ Tracey Garvis Graves, Katherine Owen, Terri Giuliano Long
    All indie Authors.

    There’s probably more. But I just can’t think right now. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hmmm…I didn’t think about the upside (or maybe downside) to this post. Now I have MORE authors to go check out. Good thing I have lots of space on my Kindle. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 (off to Amazon to check out authors…)

    Reply
  3. Your blog is great and I love that you’re finding new authors and talking about them, sharing their work with your readers. If you’re curious, I’ve been posting chapters of my novel, VERA, a supernatural satirical thriller on my blog–the story takes place in New York City and Maine and centers around a young woman undergoing a powerful and terrifying change. I also made a short book trailer, too.
    No pressure, of course, I just wanted to mention it in the interest of sharing. I also wrote a short piece about The Hunger Games trilogy–the first two books, and my dilemma if I should read the third. If you’ve read them, I’d be interested to hear what you think.
    Keep up the great work.
    Alice Blunt

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Broken Hero « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  5. Pingback: Emotion and Conflict – What’s Enough? « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  6. Pingback: Shannyn Schroeder | Author

Leave a Reply

