RSS Feed

Revenge is…

Scary. I don’t know if you’ve been roped into this show, but I sure have. When I originally saw commercials for Revenge, I hadn’t planned to watch. I thought it was going to be a Mean Girls kind of show. I think that mostly came from the lead actress looking so young. For whatever reason, I tuned in for the first episode and I was hooked. For those of you who haven’t seen it, here’s the trailer:

The whole premise is that Amanda Clarke takes on a new identity (Emily Thorne) to exact revenge on all of the people who played a part in ruining her and her father’s lives. Amanda/Emily is such a complex character that she’s fascinating to watch. Most of the time, she’s so scheming that she appears to be nothing more than a sociopath. She’s completely cold and heartless.

But then…you see her with Jack, her childhood friend, and the dog she left with him years ago, and you see genuine love. The actress is phenomenal as you watch her compartmentalize those feelings to keep on track. For weeks, I kept wishing that Amanda would abandon her mission and find happiness with Jack. It was a possibility, and although I knew it wouldn’t happen, it didn’t stop me from hoping. I guess that’s the romantic in me.

Now, it’s too late. Too much has happened, and she can’t go back. It kind of makes me sad because I don’t see how this can end well for Amanda. She’ll get her revenge, but at what cost to her?

I can understand the concept of revenge. I’m sure there have been times in my life when I’ve gotten even with someone over some wrong. I don’t think I could go to the lengths Amanda goes to get revenge. Her plans are meticulous to knock off each person. No, she doesn’t kill anyone; she doesn’t have to. She ruins them, using their own faults to bring them down.

My husband is squarely in the eye-for-an-eye camp. If someone had done to him what was done to Amanda, I could totally see him spending the rest of his life making those people pay. I grew up in a dysfunctional, abusive household. I was an angry teen. By the time I was an adult, I learned I had to let it go. The anger and hate would just eat away at me and ruin more of my life. So although I carry that baggage with me and it has formed who I am, it doesn’t rule my life. Amanda’s rage rules hers.

How about you? Are you more likely to seek revenge or do you just move on?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

7 responses »

  1. Hey Shannyn. I haven’t watched the show, but I did some research on the psychology of revenge for my romantic suspense, The Vendetta. Interesting stuff. The Italians took vengeance to a whole new level in the 15th & 16th centuries–fodder for that most romantic of stories: Romeo & Juliet.

    Reply
    • I don’t like Romeo & Juliet. I HATED having to teach it. Romeo always seemed like too much of a sap. I couldn’t buy into it. I much preferred to teach Othello. I wonder what that says about me 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos

    I am also very addicted to Revenge. I have grown to adore the cute little rich boy she is stringing along. Isn’t he like so sexy and adorable?? And I know she’s supposed to be with Jack. I think they will end up together. I mean the very first show showed the cute rich guy (idk why I can’t remember his name) getting killed. And it seemed like Jack was the one who killed him. I think/hope she will tell him. I think Jack might help her somehow. I love how the dog knows it’s her and I wanna scream at the fake Amanda and how she is pretending to be the girl he knew!!
    It’s really good!!!

    Reply
    • I like Daniel too. He seems genuine, especially compared to the rest of his family. I know he gets shot and in the premiere it made it look like Jack had something to do with it, but because I didn’t know who Jack was at the time, he almost looked like a homeless person. Now that I know who he is, I don’t believe for a minute that he shot Daniel. I can’t stand the fake Amanda either. I hope she’s gone soon.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Plot vs. Character « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  4. Pingback: Anti-Hero in Revenge « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  5. Pingback: Shannyn Schroeder | Author

Leave a Reply

