RSS Feed

Be a Good Apple

Okay, today’s post is a bit of a copout. I’ve been fighting a tension headache for days. Can’t seem to beat it. Might have something to do with the kids being home for another week. (For those of you whose kids went back today, I am very jealous.) Although I liked the idea of my kids being in school that last week before Christmas because I had time to finish doing what I wanted and needed to do (like lunch with grown-up friends), now I’m faced with this whole week of nothing. Thank goodness they all got great gifts to keep them busy at least part of the time.

Anyway, today’s post is a picture representation of a quote. Pete Wentz is credited with saying this, but after some digging, I couldn’t find the actual source, so I’m going with the flow and giving him credit. The image itself comes from Google images.

I love everything about this quote. I have 2 young daughters and part of me wants to blow this up into a poster to hang in their rooms. It’s a powerful message that I don’t think enough girls get.

Right now, I’m revising a manuscript that I finished a couple of years ago. It was a hot mess when I finished the first draft, but I didn’t know how to fix it. Then I did, or at least I thought I did. I hacked it to pieces and started again. It’s closer now, but still not right. Part of the problem, I realized, is that I keep breaking my character. I do it repeatedly. (This is be another post for a different day.)

And just now, I realized that the reason I keep breaking her is that I have always been a good apple. Although my heroine has the potential to be a good apple, she sees herself as a bad one. Having never been an easy apple, I’m having a hard time writing it. I know her in my head, but she doesn’t quite make it onto the page the way she’s supposed to be.

Do you like to read about characters who are more like you or more different than you are? Which character that you’ve read lately is most like you or most different?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

5 responses »

  1. I like to read about characters who are the way I’d like to be, that resonate with my idealized self. Like, I hope that if the apocalypse hits, I’ll be strong and brave and resourceful. Actually, I hope the apocalypse doesn’t hit, but if it does…
    Thanks for a great post.
    Liv

    Reply
  2. Sad to say but ‘good apples,’ good girls don’t make for good reading. They have to get into trouble or there is no story. (Notice how deftly I avoid saying whether I am like the good apple or the easy one 😀 )

    I really like the quote, though. Thanks.

    Reply
    • I agree that a character needs to get into some trouble for there to be conflict, but I’ve read lots and lots of books (mostly contemporaries) that have a goody-two-shoes for the heroine. It doesn’t mean she’s boring or that there is no conflict; it’s just who she is. The serious businesswoman for example – she’s not tossing her shirt off in a night club, like her easy friend might 🙂

      As far as not saying what kind of apple you are … sometimes avoidance says a lot

      Reply
  3. I agree with Lenette, good girls are … boring … and have to show their bad side. I love the quote, just wish it were true. Show me a good girl that always wants to be a good girl, and that girl is always by herself. I discovered at an early age that good girls want to show their bad side, so they can fit in. That doesn’t mean they’re easy … just adventurous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

