RSS Feed

Friday Favorites – Life Stuff and Writing

Life stuff–

Parenting is a big part of my day with 3 kids, so I am very familiar with Marianne Hansen’s day of questioning why we chose to have this life. On a particularly tough day, she chooses to blast Melissa Etheridge. Check out her post on The Zen of Melissa Etheridge. For me, it was always “Me and Bobby McGee” by Janis Joplin. If you have any doubts about the sing-along possibilities:

With us all still getting into the swing of a new year (how many times have you caught yourself still writing 2011?), things can get a little overwhelming. Debra Kristi writes about information overload. I think most of us can relate to this because we juggle a regular job, family, and writing, along with everything that goes with each of those things. It is all about priorities and setting realistic expectations for yourself. For me, I realistically expect that my house will never be clean for more than an hour or so (while the kids are out of the house) and I can live with that.

Ingrid Schaffenburg takes it a step further than just prioritizing. She talks about fulfilling our dreams by creating the right kind of actions. It is a beautifully written post. And in reading it, I realized that she supports my notion of not having a clean house. Will having a clean house make me a better writer or a better mother? I doubt it. Can stressing about getting the cleaning done make me do worse at both of those jobs? You betcha 🙂

Merry Farmer wrote a fabulous post on the baggage we carry. She debated with a friend about whether the past is over and done or if you carry the scars forever. I’m a little in both camps. I had a sucky childhood. Anger ruled a good portion of my teen years. As I entered adulthood, I made the choice to let go of the anger and resentment. I carry the scars. I sometimes have to check my reactions to things to see if they’re realistic or if they’re being clouded by those scars.

Emma Burcart wrote about the lengths we go to in order to fit in. Unlike Emma, I love my jeans. Jeans, t-shirt, and gym shoes all the way. I own very few pieces of jewelry and I rarely put them on. I was never very good at fitting in, so I learned at an early age not to try. I was okay being a loner. But as it turned out, even loners find people to connect with.

Writing Advice–

As a romance writer, there are some things that come up often. One is writing sex scenes and the other is writing believable guys.

Emma Burcart did a post on writing sex scenes. I’m not the kind of person who discusses sex often. I will give my kids straight informative answers to questions, but I’ve never been one to dish to friends. When writing, I have no problem writing sex scenes. I’m not totally comfortable reading them aloud though …

Jenny Hansen has a post up on “Man-Speak.” Yes, it is a real thing. As writers, we need to pay attention to how characters think and speak. Guys talk differently than women do. If you don’t pay attention to that, all of your characters will end up sounding the same.

The last advice piece I have comes from Arghink (Jenny Crusie’s blog). This week, Jenny Crusie and Lucy March posted a long discussion about romantic comedy: what works, what doesn’t, and why. It’s a little on the long side, but totally worth the time. My favorite quote from the entire post:

Lucy: You know six degrees of separation? I’m two degrees of smart.

And finally, this is not a piece of advice at all, but a call for submissions of short pieces. 6 editors from Entangled Publishing will be visiting Jami Gold’s blog to check out your pitches. Guidelines and info in the post. I don’t write that short (10 – 60K) but if I did, I would submit.

It was a crazy busy week in the blogosphere this week. There were so many great posts, I had a hard time narrowing it down to these few. What was the best thing you read this week?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

9 responses »

  1. Hey, thanks for putting me in your list! I feel very honored. I love how you have links on a variety of topics. You listed some there I defintely have to go check out. I loved Debra Kristi’s post, so I’m looking for more like that. Thanks for giving me more options. Now that I know you write romance, I’ll be paying special attention to your writing advice. I always need tips on writing the romace (and the sex) teehee.

    Reply
  2. Great mash up! Many blogs I read this week and loved and now I have some to read that I missed. Off to Jenny Crusie’s because I totally *heart* her!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Thanks for including me Shannyn! You’ve got a great mash up. I missed a lot of posts this week getting into the groove with my Row80 challenge. I need to catch up. Thanks for showing me where to start. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Holy Cowbell, Shannyn! Do you know how honored I am to be included in a mashup with all these people?? This is awesome. And I’d missed the posts by both Jenny Crusie and Ingrid so I’ll be running over to see those. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Awww, shucks. I’m glad you guys all liked the links. This is the easiest kind of post to write, so I can’t really take credit.

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the mention! Love the post!

    Reply
  7. Thanks for spreading the word about the pitch session. I appreciate it! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Great Mash up, Shannon. I missed many posts last week and am trying to catch up. Have a great week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

