RSS Feed

Friday Favorites – One for the Money and Being a B**ch

photo courtesy of imdb.com

First, let me say that today is a gorgeous day. It’s 45 degrees in January. In Chicago. Excellent weather for my day off. Usually my day off consists of running errands I pushed off all week and catching up on housework (kind of). The piles of laundry tend to get out of hand. Anyway, today, after getting my tires rotated and before starting the laundry. I went to see One for the Money, the movie based on the Janet Evanovich book and series.

I really didn’t have high hopes for the movie. I love the books, no matter how contrived or ridiculous because I love the characters and I always laugh out loud while reading. Katherine Heigl actually was a decent Stephanie Plum. Jason O’Mara was cast as Joe Morelli. I really like Jason O’Mara, but in my head, Morelli has always been Eddie Cibrian. I understand why they wanted someone who looked different because Ranger is played by Daniel Sanjata.

Here’s the cast:

photo courtesy of bellasnovella.com

taken from google images

And here’s Eddie Cibrian

So, I think it made sense to go with someone obviously different than Sanjata, who I think is the PERFECT Ranger. It’s been a long time since I read the first book in the series, but I think the movie did a good job of getting right. The cast hits the mark. I think Grandma Mazur could’ve been played up a bit more; she didn’t seem quite crazy enough. Lula was great.

The one thing that I thought was missing was the sexual tension. I didn’t see it between Stephanie and Morelli or Stephanie and Ranger. With the movie being based on just the first book, I didn’t expect a whole lot of tension between Ranger and Stephanie, but she didn’t even seem all that attracted to him, which, hello? The man is hot. I think there should’ve been more sexual tension between Morelli and Stephanie, but I wasn’t feeling it.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie and I felt like I got my money’s worth. It did feel like I was watching a TV show, though. Again, that might be because I know there are 18 books and plots and that much more character development. I did find myself wanting to see more, like the next episode.

I am behind on my Plum reading. I have number 17 that I haven’t read yet, which means I also have 18 to read. I’ll get my Morelli and Ranger fix in paper, I guess.

On to my regular mash-up of awesome links…

I only have 4 links this week, but they are powerful. First up, for writers, it’s all about having confidence and not being afraid. If you want to write (and be published) you have to be willing to put yourself out there and that opens you up to a lot.

Tonya Kappes writes about NOT being a fearful writer.

Merry Farmer talks about how confidence is a writer’s greatest asset.

My next two posts have to do with being called a bitch and what it means. I’ve been called a bitch by men and women alike, and probably a few kids who were students. It’s never bothered me, although it probably should have. The word itself has so many different connotations that I find it hard to be bothered by it. For me, I think bitch is used most often as a way to describe an independent, opinionated woman. I’m okay with that.

Emma Burcart starts off the conversation with So You Think I’m a Bitch.

Jennifer Liberts Weinberg, the Kvetch Mom, talks about the snarkiness encountered on social media, especially when one screws up (one of my greatest fears). She questions why women choose to be bitchy towards each other. Definitely food for thought.

What are your thoughts —  on Stephanie Plum, writer confidence, or being a bitch?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

5 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to see One for the Money. I’ve enjoyed almost all of that series. Even if the movie isn’t marvelous, it still looks fun and there is that eye-candy aspect!

    Reply
  2. Ok I am so glad I bought tickets to One for the Money on groupon. I can’t wait to see it. And now I want to read the books, too. Thanks for the shout out. I’m excited to read the other posts you listed.

    Reply
  3. I went to see One For The Money yesterday too! With three other authors, and of course we picked it apart;) I have to agree that there wasn’t a lot of sexual tension, but there were cute playful looks. I think that Katherine surprised me, I wasn’t all that happy with her cast as Stephanie. Morelli was definitely NOT cast correctly. I wanted a little more Italian. All in all, it was a good movie. I’m if it was good because I love the series so much or because it was entertaining.
    Thanks so much for the shout out!!

    Reply
  4. Like I said in the post, I think it’s a cute movie and I enjoyed it. Like Tonya, I’m not sure if I would’ve enjoyed it as much if I hadn’t read the books. Yes, Ginger, the eye candy makes it better, but I don’t think one guy took his shirt off (except for the naked old man — no eye candy there)

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the review, Shannyn! I, too, love the books and I am looking forward to seeing the movie. I think you might have hit on something with your comment about a TV series…this would be perfect! I like your character/casting breakdown. I’m not sure there is a man alive who could be “My Morelli”! :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

