RSS Feed

The Mother’s Day That Wasn’t

It’s Sunday night and I’m going use this post to vent a little. Mother’s Day around here wasn’t just a typical day. It was a typical day leaning toward bad. Like I’ve said before, I don’t expect big celebrations and lavish gifts. But today was a tough one.

My godson spent the weekend with us because my friend was out of town until Sunday morning, so my morning started with a 30-minute drive to get him to his soccer game by 10. I stayed for the game because otherwise no one would be there to cheer for him. I didn’t mind doing this because my friend is a single mom in need of a break. I made my youngest go with me because both my son and my husband were sick (and we do call her Trouble).

Then I found out that Shorty made my husband breakfast in bed because he was sick (WTF?). Later she told me that she had made the breakfast for me, but then hid it and forgot about it until after I left. 🙂

Trouble and I had lunch at Sonic on the way home from the soccer field. Once I got home, I finished my editing for the day job and took my son to the Walgreens clinic to make sure he didn’t have an ear infection like his father (who went to the clinic earlier in the day, but didn’t think to bring our son with him).

After an hour at the clinic (no ear infection – YAY!), I went back home to get some grading done for my Thursday night class. Did I have to do it today? No, but since both of my daughters asked me to chaperone their field trips this week (one on Monday and one on Tuesday), not only am I losing writing time, I’m losing all my work time.

Dinner involved me going out and picking up Wendy’s for the kids and tacos from the neighborhood Mexican restaurant for me and my husband. At least I didn’t have to cook.

Before you think that my life is totally miserable, I did get a card from my husband and a dozen roses and a recorded book from my kids. The book made me laugh, especially the parts that weren’t supposed to be recorded.

I finished my evening by going grocery shopping so that I would be able to make lunches this week. And then I threw in a load of laundry.

Really, when you think about celebrating what moms do, I believe I covered almost all of it today.

How was your Mother’s Day? Did you get anything fun and fabulous?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

4 responses »

  1. lynnkelleyauthor

    I say you should get a Mother’s Day do over this Sunday! My daughter and son-in-law took us and his parents and sisters to the Dodger game. I hadn’t been to Dodger stadium in 40 years! It was great fun, but super hot. Your schedule sounds super duper busy, so I hope you get some time to be pampered or at least pamper yourself this weekend!

    Reply
  2. I agree with Lynn. Do over when no one is sick. I had a good MD. Family dinner not cooked by me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

