RSS Feed

Tag, I’m It – Lucky 7 Meme

image taken from Jennifer Oliver's blog http://www.small-escapes.com/?p=515

I don’t know if you’ve seen the latest meme being passed around the interwebs, but it’s called Lucky 7 and I’ve been tagged by Emma Burcart to share some writing from my WIP. Like most things that get passed around, Lucky 7 has its own set of rules:

Open your WIP (current work in progress) and

1. Go to page 77

2. Go to line 7 on that page

3. Copy the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs as they are written.

4. Tag 7 new authors.

I don’t mind sharing from my WIP, but since I have 2 going, I wasn’t sure which to share. One is finished and I’ve been revising like crazy (or at least it’s been making me crazy) and the other is only a little more than a third done in the first draft. Since I couldn’t decide, you get the bonus of reading 2 passages. Both are single-title contemporary romances.

First up, my work in revision. I hope this will be the second book for my contract with Kensington. Its tentative title is Exceeding Expectations.

            He suddenly realized the remark sounded like he was propositioning a hooker. He stepped back to think clearly. “Your commission. I’ll write you a check right now. Then it won’t matter.”

“Sorry, no deal. I work for my commission. I’ll get it when I find you a house.” She pushed off the table, intent on leaving.

He stepped in her path. “Just a kiss.” One that would surely lead to the bedroom. He never misread those signals.

The second passage is my crappy first draft. The book doesn’t have a title because I suck at coming up with titles. I keep my drafts saved under the heroine’s name. In this case, Elizabeth:

She broke the silence. “You never answered my question. Did you follow me?”

“No.”

“Then why are you here?”

He sighed, knowing she wouldn’t let him just enjoy holding her. The song ended and he leaned close to her ear. “I’m here for the same reasons everyone else is. I’m looking to get laid.”

***

Elizabeth couldn’t believe he’d said that. She was not here to get laid. She was visiting with friends and having fun.

Now that I’ve exposed a nearly-done and a barely done excerpt, I’m tagging the following 7 authors:

1. Kiersten Krum

2. Ruthie Knox

3. Asrai Devin

4. Jenny Hansen

5. Ryann Kerekes

6. Tiffany White

7. Renee Schuls-Jacobson

How do you feel about sharing work that’s not quite ready?

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

11 responses »

  1. Ooh, your excepts are very fun! I’m glad you shared. I don’t mind sharing bits and pieces of unfinished work. I did the Lucky 7 too and while it’s always nerve-wrecking to show off unpolished work, the feedback usually gives me motivation to keep on working at it. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the tag! I’ll have to play along this Friday….

    Reply
  3. I love both of the snippets! Makes me think I should try reading a romance novel. Guess I’ll put that on the to do list. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Omigosh! I don’t know how tyou tagged me, but I never saw this before! I LOVE this idea! I’m doing it now! I’m so sorry! But thank goodness! Someone must have told you to link to a page, right? Go back and re-tag these people by linking to a specific page! If you just tag to our URL, we won’t get the pingback. Does that make sense? I sound like an alien. This is cool!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Friday FaBOOolousness – March’s MarvelOoous Mashups, Awards, and a Tag Meme | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  6. Thank you for the tag. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Crikey! I’m soooo bad at this tagging business… but I will try. I have to get through my Blogiversary first, but I will get to this and let you know when it happens. What a cute idea. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Jeez…I cut myself off before my THANK YOU, Shannyn!!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Showing A Little WIP: A Teeny Excerpt of my Fiction Manuscript « Teachers & Twits

Leave a comment