RSS Feed

Friday Favorites – the Short Edition

So it’s still spring break here. Spring break + 3 kids = no extra time for Shannyn. I did manage to comb the web for my favorite posts for the week, but there’s not as many as usual.

TV:

Tiffany White writes about Missing with Ashley Judd. I’ve watched the first couple of episodes (although I didn’t get to watch last night’s yet) and I like it. No, it’s not super realistic, so if you’re looking for that, this show probably won’t work for you. I think I mostly watch because I like Ashley Judd.

I have 2 posts about Once Upon a Time. This isn’t a show I watch because although it looks interesting now, when it first aired, I wasn’t sure. I saw trailers for both this and Grimm and both air at earlier times than I usually watch TV, so it kind of slipped my mind to set a timer to record. After people starting talking about it, it felt too late to start, but I might play catch up at some point. What fascinates me, especially as a romance writer, is the idea of infidelity as part of the fairy tale.

Jennifer Hale wrote a post last month about Prince Charming being “just a little bit married.”

And Emma Burcart wrote this week about how Prince Charming is “kind of a jerk.”

These posts alone make me want to catch up on the show.

Adam Bellotto does a great roundup of this week’s episode of Justified.

Writing:

The Romance Man has an excellent post about why he loves romance heroines. They all have a special quality of strength that he can respect. (gotta love a man who reads romance and isn’t afraid to talk about it)

Merry Farmer wrote this week about writing love scenes. As an author who does have sex scenes in her book, I liked that Merry tackled this topic. I haven’t found love scenes difficult to write, but I have found that the scenes have varied greatly depending on the characters. In my book releasing later this year, the sex scenes are pretty explicit. In the book I’m revising, my critique partner was shocked because I barely followed my characters into the bedroom. For me, it was about importance. For my heroine, Quinn, having sex with Ryan (especially the first time) is a big deal for her. She doesn’t jump into bed easily. For Indy, however, sex isn’t as much of an issue, so I wrote less.

Chuck Wendig has another of his fabulous lists of 25 things. This week — 25 lies writers tell themselves.

Photomontage to Ferris Bueller's Day Off (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Just for fun:

You know last week, I put out a call for you to help Renee Schuls-Jacobson by voting for Ferris Bueller. I’m back again because Ferris needs saving from Westley. Go read Renee’s reasons for voting for Ferris.

Hope you all have a great weekend. I’m off to go see Mirror, Mirror with the girls.

About Shannyn Schroeder

Mom of 3, editor, and contemporary romance writer

8 responses »

  1. Omigosh Shannyn! You are the bestest best for trying to help me SAVE FERRIS. I don’t know how far I will be able to go with this last ditch effort to bring Ferris to the Finals, but I’d sure like to go head-to-head with whoever wins in the other bracket.

    So exciting.

    And yet so exhausting.

    And then so exciting again.

    It truly is madness.

    Great Mash-Up. I am honored to be included.

    Reply
  2. Just a little bit married! That’s hilarious! I can’t wait to read that post. And I definitely need to read the one about writing love scenes. This is a great list of links! Thanks for including me with such fabulous posts!

    Reply
  3. Shannyn,

    Thanks for mentioning my blog! I’ll admit, I’ve grown a little cold to Once Upon A Time because of that story line. I’ve got 4 episodes waiting for me on the DVR. I’ll watch them eventually, but I’m not dying to like some of the other shows I adore.

    Reply
    • Thanks for letting me know. I obviously haven’t rushed off to watch any of them, so maybe I’ll wait until the season ends and see how people react. If it’s still going strong, then I’ll play catch-up.

      Reply
  4. Thanks for the linky love, Shannyn! I answered your Lucky 7 Meme tag on the blog today…hope you enjoy!

    Reply
  5. I love these posts, Shannyn. I’ve been a bit swamped this past week but finally making my rounds and catching up. Off to check your links. : )

    Reply

Leave a comment